Sworder ready for shale Debut

29/03/2012 11:27

The following is an extract from an interview Mick did with Pete Randall. The full interview appears in Saturday's meeting programme....

 

There is no doubt that the most exciting news to hit Brisca F1 in early 2011 was that former F2 World Champion Mick Sworder was to move to the bigger cars, now possibly quite a bit was expected of Mick, maybe too much, but as it turned out he delivered far more than most anticipated, certainly he exceeded his own expectations by ending the year as European Champion, a title he won at Northampton last July, there has been various rumours that Mick has purchased the ex. Andy Smith 391 shale car for use this year, I spoke to him on Wednesday evening to see if I could find out the facts………………..

PR : Thanks for talking to me at short notice Mick, and the question everyone wants to know is have you bought the Andy Smith car?

MS : Well, I am racing it at Lynn on Saturday so I guess I cannot keep it a secret any longer! The roof has been made higher as I am taller than Andy, that was done by Andy for me before I got it, the observant ones might have noticed that it had actually been done when Andy raced the car for the last time at Belle Vue last year, so the deal was already done then, in fact it had been done for some time. The 391 team had been so helpful with my tarmac car throughout the year that when I heard that Andy was selling the car it did not really need too much thinking about. My knees are a bit close to the steering column but they are like that in whatever car I seem to drive. We have changed the seat as well in it, other than that and the paintwork the car is very much as Andy raced it.

 

150 Mick Sworder will be looking for more success when he makes his first F1 appearance at King's Lynn

PR : So the secret is out, is it painted up like the tar car?

MS : It is very similar, just silver where the blue bits are on the tarmac car.

PR : Have you practiced at all in the car?

MS : I have driven it round the yard, that is all, my practice will be the first race at King’s Lynn. I am really looking forward to having a go in it now.

PR : Having made the decision to make the change from F2 a year ago, were you pleased how it all went last year?

MS : I was very pleased, to be honest with you I thought I might win a heat or two maybe before the end of the year, maybe a GN perhaps, no way did I think I would win a final, and as for winning a major title, well that did not even enter my head! When I won the European that afternoon I have never ever been more shocked to win a race than I was that day. The weather helped that day, we took a gamble with our set up and it paid off big time. The only disappointment was not being able to race in the semi, I was going to use this car that I have bought now, but for various reasons it did not happen and then I was going to use my own car but I had problems with that the night before and in the end I had to miss the race.

PR : Have you set any goals for this year at all?

MS : Not really, just like last year really, do as well as I can. I would love to win a final on shale as I only ever won two finals on shale in F2, I certainly don’t really expect to win any championships. I am not really bothered about getting in the shootout thing as then you are kind of committed to doing the rounds, I only plan to race shale at Coventry and King’s Lynn. I will do all the tarmac meetings again though.

PR : To be fair to yourself, you did not ever race that much on shale in F2?

MS : No I suppose not, someone told me I competed in 22 shale meetings in all the years I raced F2 cars.

PR : Would you like to give your sponsors a mention?

MS : Sure would, there are quite a few though! Proedge Partners, Sworders Commercial Salvage (01832 710033), Sop & Sop Vehicle Maintenance, D & S Construction, Central Salvage, Wash & Dash, Richard Baldwin Motorhomes, Simpson Race Exhausts, Polleysport, Granville Supplies, I G Racing, CW Autos, Harrison Supplies & Stoxphotos (Colin Casserley). Thanks to all of them.

PR : How about your mechanics?

MS : Well there is Stewpot, Jim Bamford, Ian Gardner, my lad Charlie, my father-in-law Trigger and my dad Dick. Again thanks to all of them.

PR : Is there anything else you want to mention at all Mick?

MS : Just a big thank you to all the family for their help over the years and especially to my wife Zoe and our new arrival Harry who is 11 weeks old now, and of course my other son Charle.

 

Mick Sworder will be making his long awaited F1 shale debut in a competitive car at the Norfolk Arena on Saturday night.

Back

Search site

© 2008 Trackstar Racing. All rights reserved.