Luke's ready for his most important race of the year!

02/03/2012 14:06

On the eve of the 2L & 1300 Stock Car Clive Grief Memorial we caought up with Clive's son Luke who is looking forward to a great night of action. Luke will be going all out for victory tomorrow and would take winning either of tomorrow night's big races ahead of winning any other big race of championship this year.

It is always a difficult night for yourself Luke, but once again there are plenty of drivers coming to support this fantastic evening racing in memory of your dad which must make you proud? 
LG: It makes me really proud. It's fantastic that so many drivers come out in support and make the extra effort to come and race for the trophy. My dad raced 1300s as well as 2Ls and they have got a lot booked in too tonight which we are all really pleased about and I am doing both the 2 litre saloons and 1300s. 

Have you got your own car for the 1300s or is it borrowed? 
LG: It is Tom Yould's car from last season which I will be using.

 

219 Luke Grief will be in the middle of the action on Saturday night

There are a lot of cars booked in for each formula, which means the risk of getting damage is quite high so have you got much help? 
LG: I will have a fair amount of people to help me out on the night - the main one being Shaggy Karl Stubbles and the rest will be made up of family and friends, but it is all much appreciated. 

Will you still be gunning for the Websters this year? 
LG: No I don't think so, unless they come after me but I'm out there just to have a good time this season and trying not to take it so seriously.

I assume you will be back in the hunt for major title's this season? 
LG: Yes I would like to win a championship this year as it's been a while since I had one, but I'm not going to do as much travelling this year because I can't really afford to but I will still be going for all the major titles and would like to win one. 

I have always wondered why it is you get so much support from north of the border? 
LG: Yes it is amazing to be honest. I think it's because I have been up there a lot not just for major meetings but for domestics as well, which I think they appreciate and also the fact that I have a lot of respect for them as they love racing just like me. Also at a lot of the big meetings people see it as England v Scotland which is good but I don't race like that, everyone is the same to me, I like to think I race rough but race fair. 

It must be great to get so much support away from home and locally? 
LG: Yes it's brilliant and it's much appreciated. It makes all the work worthwhile. 

You must be a busy lad building other people's cars and your own and then Jodie's banger on top of that? 
LG: I don't touch bangers!! I leave that to Paul (Licquorice), but yes I have a lot on especially now doing the stuff with GRP which means I have been building cars and setting up cars which keeps me really busy. I have just finished Tom Yould's car and Dan Booth's new tarmac car which is really smart, then I get onto my own! I have just finished my 1300cc stock car today for Saturday night and then I will start on my 2 litre saloon tomorrow (Friday).

What do you make of the new situation for the 1300cc Stock Cars? 
LG: I think the new rules are good but it would be nice if they spoke to the drivers to ask them what they wanted and gave them a bit more time to change things to their cars but overall it is good for the formula. 

Have you ever fancied a go in something apart from a saloon? 
LG: I have had a practice in an F2, but I would love a ago in an F1. A few meetings in an F1 or an F2 would be great but it just costs to much money.

How much would it mean to win one of your dads trophy's on Saturday? 
LG: It would mean a lot more than any major championship, as that is just a title if that makes sense where as this you are racing for someone and it means so much more to be racing for your dad. 

 

Back

Search site

© 2008 Trackstar Racing. All rights reserved.