Deano Looking for Team Success

07/02/2012 19:44

After his team’s success in the Unders Icebreaker a couple of weeks ago, 730 Deane Mayes must be looking forward to the exciting prospect of yet another top three place in the unlimited Icebreaker......

 

730 Deane Mayes - Looking to be involved in the middle of the action at this Saturday's Icebreaker

 

You must have been pleased with the team’s second place in the 1500cc Icebreaker and are you looking for a repeat in the unlimited one? 

DM: Yes I was well chuffed with the result. We were running sixth going into the final so I didn’t think it would be possible to end up where we did in second. It would be nice to repeat it in the Unlimited event but you never know what is going to happen! 

 

There is one change to your team from two weeks ago can you tell us about it? 

DM: Well that has all changed now. It was meant to be Jack Aldridge but he can’t do it now for one reason or another so then we were going to have Glynn Platts but he has now got his own team in the competition so now we are a driver down but we are in talks with one or two drivers. 427 Dean McPhilimy wasn’t keen to come back and do this meeting so I am waiting on 837 Martin Wesby who wants to do it but his truck is in for an MOT next week so I’m praying it passes, so we are trying to get back to a full team. 

 

How did you all come together as there is a big distance between you? 

DM: I got friendly with Jack Aldridge over a year ago and he asked if I wanted to do the Heavy Metal Classic meeting at Standlake, so I went down to do that and that is where I met 257 Timmy Aldridge and 124 Carl Korziewski and they said that they wanted to do this meeting and it went from there really. They are a good bunch of lads and we enjoyed ourselves last week. 

 

With all the sides out there that will be after each other surely you will be hoping for a trouble free passage in your races?

DM: You never can tell what is going to happen in a meeting like this. There will be a lot of cars on the track in each race and you just have to hope you can avoid it and that luck is on your side. 

 

In the last two years you have been out with injury and suspension, but with a clear year in 2012 what do you feel you can achieve? 

DM: I want to do as many meetings as possible which includes every King’s Lynn meeting and then the big meetings we always travel to which are good to go to. It would be nice to get my name back out there for the right reasons and get people talking about me again and just put myself in the running to win things again. 

 

What is your main goal for 2012? 

DM: Don’t know to be honest. It would be nice to try and win titles and to get a roof colour on my car but there are so many good drivers out there at the moment it will be hard to do but I will be trying! 

 

Would you ever go back to racing in a team or are you happier now? 

DM: I am a lot happier now I’m racing on my own because if I want to ride round and race I can and if I want to have a crash I can. Sometimes people slag me of for racing but it’s what I want to do sometimes! Like if I see a rival parked up and I’m winning a race I can drive by and go on to win that race and deal with them another time. When I was in a team, I was having to throw away leads to go into the back of someone which is not something I always wanted to do. 

 

COMING UP TOMORROW - Hear from Mad Hatters Captain 390 David Gibson

Back

Search site

© 2008 Trackstar Racing. All rights reserved.